Another scary “C” word

I love you, dad.

So there was one time I cried. A lot actually. About two weeks before our wedding, I got a phone call from my dad. It went like this:

Me: “Hi. This is the first time you have called since I moved; something bad happened, didn’t it?”

Dad: “Actually, honey, I was calling to tell you that I have cancer.

Before he could say another word I was crying so hysterically that I was hyperventilating. I couldn’t see straight. The whole world was spinning a million miles an hour and I was standing still. I felt like I had been sucker punched in the gut.

…I can’t imagine what dad felt like when he got the news.

One week from today he goes in for his first surgery. I hate that I can’t be there. Please by praying for my sweet dad. That he may know the peace that only God can provide. For his salvation. For physical healing.

Leave a Reply

